Goodbye Stripes! Hello Floral Curtains!!

 

Hi Guys – hope you are all having a great Mother’s Day weekend. We had the whole family over and it was a perfect weather day to sit outside and just hang out! Where did April go?  Time is going by way too fast and April was filled with many events. We took a well deserved vacation with my family – which was a blast – it was so nice to defrost on the beach after such a long winter.

I was also  able to get some projects finally done around the house, which felt awesome!  I was even able to paint some furniture outside – which felt like that would never happen again after this long winter!

We had some great friends of ours visit last week – which put the pressure on to do some projects around the house before their visit.

Stripe curtain family room

The first one I wanted to share with you all is that I updated the curtains in our great room – I have wanted to do this for some time. I think the stripe curtains were over 12 years old. Though I loved them – the stripes were getting kinda of dated. Since I added the brown and lime green curtains to the living area – it really has brightened up the room – which was feeling a little bit dark.

Then in February I replaced the dark leather ottoman with the two toned coffee table to add a little bit more depth and color to the space. It is holding up awesome and the kids don’t even miss sitting on the ottoman.

Over the winter I was stalking various fabrics on-line in the process of trying to find the right curtain fabric for the space. Should I go solid, pattern, color, geometric? I looked at everything.

I decided on this fabric from Joann’s. It is actually fabric that I have used before as an accent in our bedroom. I love the use of color and the fun floral pattern within the print. It has the brown for the sofas, and the lime green from the pillows.

Back window by TV Curtain panel

It is amazing how the landscape over the room has changed with the curtains, the room became warmer – not darker and less preppy as my Mom said with the stripes no longer being there.

Back window new curtains web

The curtains were really easy to make – for 4 panels at 84 inches in length I needed about 10 yards of material. I had a Joann’s coupon for 50% off so the panels were about $45 dollars a panel – for this type of material that is awesome.

Right side of bay window web

 

I used rings to hold the panels on the rods which are great to move the curtains back and forth – and I had the rings from the old curtains.

Bay window center new curtains

 

I think I bought them at Bed Bath and Beyond – but you pretty much can buy them anywhere now. It took about an hour and a half to cut and sew the curtains together – which is just a Saturday morning and then you have a whole new look and feel to your room.

 

 

Comments

  1. LOVE this update.

  2. Your new floral curtains look beautiful! I just purchased a similar color print from Joann’s, but i like yours so much better! do you happen to know the manufacturer and print name? It should be printed on the receipt. Thank you! Bonnie 🙂

Leave a comment