DIY Project – Great gift for a Friend….

If you are looking for a fun gift to make for someone special in your life here is an idea, how about a frame with a letter in it. In looking at Pinterest this summer I saw a lot of people have framed letters on their walls. I thought that this idea was pretty cool and have made a couple of them over the last couple of months.

I put one together for my sister in law’s baby shower were the number 4 was the theme – since he was going to the be the fourth and it proudly hangs in his nursery. So when my girlfriend’s birthday was approaching I decided to make one for her. Here is how it is done…

Picture frame before brown

1). Find a fun frame to use….I like to use one with a lot of character. I found this frame at Kirkland’s; I liked the thickness as well as all the carving details on the front of the frame.

Frame painted B still unpainted

2). You can either stay with the current color of the frame or paint it. Since this frame had great detail I decided to paint the frame with Annie Sloane paint and then distress it! Which I really think changed up the look and feel of the frame.

3). Buy the letter you need. They have great selections at stores like Joanne’s and Michael’s, make sure you bring your 40% coupon.

Frame distressed

4). I really liked the shape of this B  – my friends favorite color is Tiffany blue. So I decided to spray paint it Tiffany blue (I actually made this gift this summer – thus why I could spray paint).

Another closed up of the b

5).  Then you need to find some type of backing for the frame and something to ahear your letter too. I have done it different ways – just cutting fabric and cluing the letter to it or I found this pre-cut burlap squares at Wal-Mart for 8×10 frames at Wal-Mart that I really liked using.

The finished product b letter frame
6). Once you have selected your backing take a hot clue gun and glue the letter to the backing.

b on the wall front view

Then you have a cute gift with some sentimental meaning for someone special in your life!

B on the wall

What types of gifts have you been making lately, do you have anything special up your sleeves? Have a great Monday!

Comments

  1. I like this! Although I have to admit, when I first started reading (before seeing the pictures), I was thinking you were talking about framing a letter that you write (Dear Sally…etc.) rather than the letter “B” type of letter! I think the other way is another fun idea. ;]

    • Hi Traci – totally see your point and love the idea of a letter – I actually have framed a couple of letters I have received in my life and have them around the house too!! Great idea! Hope you are having a great Monday.

      Chernee

Leave a Reply

