A Little Bit of Crushed Ice in the Powder Room

What an adventure this powder room make over was last week. Sometimes, I think I underestimate what a project will entail. I get so excited and in typical Chernee fashion just plunge into an adventure. The hubby always reminds me of this – and I hate to admit it but this time he is right. But I do have to say – this room was done in time for our annual Super Bowl party with hours to spare.J

I really do love how the room turned out. It feels tranquil and calming and really compliments and balances the surrounding spaces in that section of the house – in particular the mudroom hall.

So here is the roundup of the room – still a couple of additions and changes to be made but I can’t wait any longer to share the space with you all.

view from the hall powderroom

So I painted the walls Crushed Ice by Sherwin Williams – this is the first time I have gray walls in my house – and I really do like it! It is a great neutral color that will go with anything so I can change up the décor in the space in the future.

poweder room

My original plan was to paint the bead board wallpaper Aloof Gray also by Sherwin Williams but after my Mom and I finished the wallpaper we really liked how the white looked up against the Crushed Ice. So instead I painted the bead board Journal White by Ralph Lauren – which is what all my baseboards and doors are painted in the house.

the black mirror web

I also updated our bathroom mirror. To add a little bit of punch to the space I wanted a black mirror, I like the shape and size of this mirror so I painted it high gloss black paint. This mirror is metal, I would have much preferred to spray paint the mirror but last week with the artic weather it was not the best time for spray painting. I do like the black accent against the wall – just not sure if I like the mirror anymore – so I am on the lookout for a new black mirror- maybe vintage would be cool.

rug powder room

I found the patterned rug at Homegoods, it was the perfect pill height so I did not have to worry that the door would not shut – that would have been awkward for the party! It has just enough of a pattern and with the muted gray and cream colors really centers the room and adds some warmth.

floors towel powder room

 In regards to the other accessories in the room, I kept the silk Gerber daisies that I have had forever. It is nice I think to add hints of color to such a neutral room. I also decided to switch out the small print that I have had forever on the larger wall for this more rustic print. It fits better on the wall and builds on the color element in the room.  Plus I am thinking of adding a little bit more yellow to the room as well and I have always loved bees. Not sure if it is a keeper but I like the size of the print. So I am going to live with the print on the wall with the tags for a couple of days to see how I feel. I love leaving tags on things; it is the Minnie Pearl in me.

soap and lotion powder room

What I have left to purchase I think is a small print for the wall above the light switch. Maybe another bee print of some kind, I am not sure, I have been browsing on Etsy and found a couple watercolors that I like.

4a68c1ad43ec7ad0b4dfd78faac03109

Also, I am thinking I might switch out the valance. I am in love with this fabric. I found it on Centsational girl blog. This is where I got the idea for the bead board wallpaper in the first place. I really like her decorating style and it is very similar to mine. I was originally thinking that this fabric would look awesome in our kitchen but I did not really want to add more yellow to the area and it looks a little too feminine for the hubby in a room he uses all the time. I think this fabric will look awesome in the powder room, it is a little pricey but I only really need a yard so I am going to order it and see how it looks.

Powder room before

So that is a wrap of how the bathroom looks is right now. What a transformation in a short period of time.

view from the hall powderroom

Have you ever used bead board wallpaper in your house – which room did you try it in? Did you end up painting it? How is it holding up?

Give me the Goods Link Party

Comments

  1. Love the pictures! Oh, by the way, I am still shocked you said I was “right”! I almost fell out of my chair!

  2. I love the color! It looks so calming. And I also love how you can change up the accent colors without much effort. Looks great!

  3. I can’t believe it’s wall paper. It looks great.

  4. This turned out so nicely! I love the that you chose white for the bead board and that rug … swoon!

    • Thanks Sarah – me too – even though I loved Aloof Gray, which is what I was going to paint on the bottom, I am glad I went with the white – makes the room feel so much more brighter!

Leave a Reply

