How to Upcycle your Existing Curtains

Happy Friday Folks, we made it through another week!! I love that the weather in my area has taken a little bit of a break – so nice to be able to get some errands done and not have to worry about when the next snow storm is coming.

Chair one and Chair two

So yesterday I asked you guys for your help in picking out which chair I should use in our guestroom. Have you ever seen the game in magazines where you have two pictures of the same thing (excluding the chairs) and you have to pick out what has changed? Were you able to figure it out?  If you guessed the curtains you would be right on the nose!

I first bought these curtains when we moved into our house. They were from Bed, Bath and Beyond. I love the color, but they are linen, which makes them really see-thru and they do not block out a lot of the morning sun. Our bedroom has so many windows (3 large ones) and I did not realize that there would be so much light.  I ended up taking them down but I am very glad that I kept them. They have been used by other folks in the meantime.

Last year when I decided to lighten up the guestroom, I had heavy, silk striped blue/grey curtains up on the windows.  Though they were awesome – they did make the room very dark. So I decided to give the old ones another whirl and add a little texture to the room with the linen material.

Chair number 2 web guestroom

I liked how they looked but felt they were missing something. One day I was surfing on pinterest and came across this post on how this blogger upgraded her curtains by stenciling them. Here is the link to her post.

This was about the time when I was on my stenciling craze. Ok, I still am…Lights went off in my head; I saw hearts and heard music playing!  Anyway I went onto Royal Designs web site and found this cute stencil, called the Bari J that I thought would not look too big on the curtains. As usual it came quickly in the mail.

Here is what you need:

Chalk Paint – I love to use Annie Sloane and I used Old White for the project.

Small paint roller – I just got this one from Wal-Mart worked just fine.

A Liner for the table or surface you want to paint the project on.

Your stencil.

So I actually did this project in November. I got up early and in my typical Type A fashion decided to go for it and give it a try. For the first curtain, it went really well.

curtain before stencil web

You just start in the most upper corner and start your pattern. I decided to do an up and down pattern.

close up of the stencil curtains web

Start with one flower up, move down the curtain and the next flower down. So I worked across then down the curtain and the pattern worked out fine. When I picked up the curtain I did not realize that the paint would seep through the material – really a silly mistake.

the table after 1st panel web

So the next time around I used a drop cloth because it took about 20 minutes of some good scrubbing to get all the paint off the table. Thank God it was chalk paint and water takes it right up.

finished panel guestroom

Once complete on the pattern, I just hung them right back up – the beauty of chalk paint is that is dries really fast and creates a distressed look, which I wanted anyway.

stenciled curtains guestroom web

So I also found similar curtains to these in  Ballard Designs these curtains go for $150 to $190 dollars a panel, I upcycled these curtains for under $25 dollars for all 4 panels, which included the cost of the stencil and the roller. I had the paint already from other projects.

downward look on the chair web

Guestroom chair from the left

The added white to the curtains adds even more texture to the room that this space was lacking – I often feel that something in a corner needs a pattern.

closeup of the accent table

Don’t be afraid to see what you can do to your existing items in your room, it can totally change the feel.  Be bold and take a risk!

Have you ever upcycled curtains in your home, whether it be adding some fringe, or shortening them for another room, or adding another piece of material? There are a lot of options so don’t be afraid to be creative!

Skip to my Lou

Craft Link Party

Give me the Goods Link Party

The Scoop Link Party

Inspiration Exchange Link Party

Work it Wednesday

Inspire Me Please – Link Party

Skip the House Work Saturday

Salvaged DIY Whites

Comments

  1. Genius! I am pinning this! What an awesome idea!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Old curtains look like new again with a stencil from the art supply store. The cute detailing gives the curtains a one-of-a-kind look and is a very easy weekend DIY project. Sometimes it’s the simple ideas that can add a big impact to a room.    —   Velo Gioielli   […]

Leave a Reply

