Bring on the Fur!

Last week I am sorry that I was MIA. Our family was hit by the stomach bug – one of those that hit every 24 hours, so I was down for the count for a couple of days.

Chernee in Banana Vest - by Peter web

But by Friday I was ready to go out and I was tired of wearing yoga pants and my fleece. I love to be comfortable but sometime this girl needs to get dressed up. I am a big fan of the Fur vest – I think I have 4 of them in various colors. They are definitely one of my go to accessories to leverage in the winter.

This season Banana Republic has some awesome vests and I could not resist the temptation of buying yet another one.  I love the rich black/greyish color and it has deep pockets for a lipstick or your phone. I bought it on sale for 30% off the sticker price, that is one of my goals this year – since the stores are always having incentives I am trying not to purchase clothes at full price – so far I am doing pretty good.

The hubby and I were going out to one of our favorite restaurants with friends and the atmosphere you can either go high or low with the type of outfit you wear. I decided to go in the middle of the road and bring out the fur.

Close up on the vest web

It was a nice cool fall night so I did not have to wear a coat. I decided to pair the vest with another one of my staples: the turtleneck from Banana Republic – I think I have one in every color. It is a nice silver/grey color that looks great with anything.

Banana Republic Vest - hanging on dresser web

I wore dark straight leg jeans from Ann Taylor – to make the outfit a little more casual, and really high black booties from White House Black Market  – they were from last year…Boy did people like them, my sister took them actually off my feet…And they are super comfortable.

My black booties web

Finally, I went light on the accessories. I found this great silver necklace this year from the Loft, and paired it with a vintage silver cuff. Finally, to add a hit of color and also to match my lips – I wore Sexy lips (which is a red color) from Laura Mercier, I added a red clutch!

Steve was traveling home from Boston so my son took this really cool picture that I used at the beginning of the Blog.  I know the light is a little bit different but I really like the effect that it has on the image.

What are some of your go to staples for going out in the winter? Are you a fan of the fur vest too?

Here are the links to the items:

Vest – Banana Republic

Essential Turtleneck – Banana Republic

Modern Boot Cut  Denim Jeans – Ann Taylor

Bootie – White House Black Market – Last season

Necklace – Long Crystal Charm Necklace – Loft

Lips – Sexy Lips

Comments

  1. Steve Vitello says:

    Oh Good! A turtleneck in every color! I didn’t know that and I was concerned you didn’t have enough. By the way, I am bringing all your clothes to the consignment shop and buying a boat with the proceeds.

Trackbacks

  1. […] a bold flower or geometric paper that was silver in tone but also very subtle, like here and here. I looked into a silver grey paint and felt the pattern would come across too bold and strong. So […]

Leave a Reply

