Vintage Finds Make This Teenage Room

Emma on her bed web

Emma’s room has been an adventure! And an enjoyable one at that….We are finally done with her space ….it took a while to finish up some of the accessories that we were looking for within the room.

I would describe Emma’s room décor as eclectic. NONE of the furniture matches. They are all vintage finds and each piece was no more than $50.00 (some were even free)– so vintage fits any age – even the teenager!

Emma's dresser wall

As I mentioned before Emma’s room is all about color. Each piece of furniture has a story and a different color choice. She has a couple of different focal points depending on where you look in the space – but the anchor in her room is her GIANT dresser we found this summer for $25.00 dollars– I can’t tell you how much I love this dresser – it is solid wood – it has awesome storage to hold her clothes so they no longer reside on her floor!

emma's dresser up close web

I distressed her dresser using Annie Sloan paint and spray painted the knobs silver – you can see all the great details here. This by far is the piece I have loved the most since starting the blog!

Emma room 2 windows web

Then on the next wall area of the room we have a desk/vanity area  – now that we are a Tween – Emma now cares about her hair and putting on make-up. I do have to say I sometime stand in the doorway and watch her play in the mirror – it is pretty cute.

Up close Emma's desk

We picked up the desk and chair at a Vintage shop in town. The desk was in pretty bad shape and in need of some tweaking and Emma and I updated the color and put on these awesome glass knobs from Anthropologie. Emma loves her stuff so this desk offers a ton of storage for her books and papers and her make-up and hair supplies too.

Emma's mirror web

The mirror above her dresser comes from this cute shop that my girlfriend took me to in CT – loved all the vintage finds…sure wish that store was closer – but then again my wallet sure does appreciate it. The store was all shabby chic décor and my girlfriend bought Emma this cute trash can there too!

Her nightstands came from different shops around our area.

zebra lamp and bed wall web

We had first painted them pink – then when Emma changed her room color the pinks did not match. We decided to paint them Crocodile Smile  by Signature and then Emma had the idea to leave the tops pink – it ties the two pieces together even though they are nothing alike – their common interest point is how we used the color. I flagged the bed with each side having a nightstand – plus more storage for my dear daughter.

Emma's little nightstand web

The bed was originally going to have an upholstered headboard in purple – but when we were in the basement Emma saw our old guest bed – which was my parents bed growing up.

Emma's bed side of the room

I loved all the details that the bed has ….so we decided to spray paint it torquois – I love this color combination with the pink! The bed turned out awesome and reminds me of some of the beds you see in Garnet Hill magazine or on pages in Pinterest – now we have one in our very home! Love it!!!

Closeup of Emma's bed web

We created a reading corner for her from a chair with bought at Justice a couple of years ago – no surprise Emma loved the fur! I am in the process of looking for a cute round stool to add to the area – and I used this old wicker trunk that was actually in my room growing up for a place to sit her animals or a computer!

Emma's reading corner

Finally in the corner is this great spindle bookcase that we found on Craigslist. This is the second color that we have painted it in less than six months. At first it was pink but it blended too much with the room.

emma's bookcase web

I decided to paint it the same color as the nightstands and now it stands out! I love how the spindles tie in with the desk legs and it has such great storage for her to use throughout the years. This bookcase was $30.00 plus paint. I do have to say it was a pain to paint because of the open shelving and the spindles but totally worth it for the look and feel of the room.

So it took me about 4 months to collect the various pieces of furniture for this space. All from different stores and from different time period and style – but with the use of color and various shapes within the pieces they all seem to work within the space.

Next blog – Emma is going to give you all a virtual tour of her room and talk about the items she likes best – it is really cute so be sure to check it out!

We are linking up to Give me the Goods Link Party Today

Comments

  1. A great girlly room. I love it.

Leave a Reply

