Skirting the Issue

Hope everyone is having a great Thursday! This is crunch week for us, last week of soccer and cheer for the kids….we have almost made it!! Had a little time to do some quick updates last week….

Do you have a utility sink in your laundry room? Our first house did not have one so when we built Vitello 2.0 I was thrilled we were getting one. To me that seemed very high-end.  Sometimes, it’s the little things that make a difference. Now it is just another thing I have to clean. How times change.

At the time I did not realize there were utility sink options. Look at all the wonderful pretty choices out on Pinterest today! I just thought one style fit all. Now there are so many cool options. So we have the standard looking sink.

The utility sink before web

It mainly holds dirty laundry but there are times when it is empty that I can use it for cleaning brushes etc… I never get closure when it comes to laundry – do you? You think you are done and then you turn around and there is a sock on the floor that you did not see….

The utility sink  is placed right by the door in the laundry room and if the door is open you do see it when you enter the house. A big ugly utility sick – to say “Hi” to the guests.

So you might ask why I am taking about my utility sink?  I have started thinking about updating the laundry room. I was never a big fan of the plain white shelf that the builder installed and the room needs more storage and better use of space. So this winter the laundry room is on the update list!! More about the plans later.

Laundry room before web

Last week I was really missing being able to do some projects – we are really busy at WC – which I am grateful for but it is not allowing me much DIY time. Which is making me cranky. So I was thinking what is a quick project that I could do that could really make an impact! And it hit me:  let’s skirt the utility sink.

I first saw this done by my BFF – she owns a spa business and redid the space. In one of the vintage bathrooms she has a beautiful skirt, which she put around the sink basin.  It made the bathroom fab!!

Waterlily skirt sink web

When I had my office the bathroom sink had exposed pipes – which was not to pleasing to the eye so I created the same look there – not sure if I have a picture of the bathroom anymore!! But it was pretty cool looking! Plus this is before I started sewing so I was pretty proud that I made the skirt myself and that it looked good.

So when I hit up Joann’s looking at fabric – which I have not been in over 2 months.. I found this print!! Maybe not what I would pick normally – but have you noticed lately that I have been leaning towards this aqua/sagey green color?  like here and here and here… The pattern also had some great greys and yellows and it made me think of my laundry room. Which is the only room in my house that has a yellowish color – which is Pear by Laura Ashley.

The fabric actually compliments the colors of the hall as well, tying  the flow of the two rooms together well. In looking at our hall color, which is called Sparrow by Benjamin Moore, I thought at first it was more of a brown base but really it is grey.

I know that was a lot of back story for this simple project but you can see where my mind comes up with these crazy ideas sometimes. So to  make the skirt I measured the sink. The way the sink is placed in the room I just needed to go in about 3 to 4 inches on the sides because it runs against the wall and the washer. The sink measures about 23 inches long and 35.5 inches high. I allowed an inch for each of the sides and an inch for the top and bottom.

Sewing the utility skirt web

Then you just turn the material over on the sides and the top and bottom and sew.

Putting the tape on the tube web

Super easy. To adhere the fabric to the sink you need to purchase self-adhesive Velcro – you can buy this at any craft store or Wal-Mart.

Sticking the fabric to the tub web

You peel off the label and sit one side to the sink and the other to the fabric and then, violia, you have skirted your sink.

skirted sink web

Creating a skirted sink does a couple of thing to the space:

  • Makes it look pretty with the fabric
  • Hides the pipes that are exposed at the bottom
  • Creates additional storage underneath the fabric

utility skirt from another view  web

This took me about 30 minutes from measuring to sewing to adhering. So when you are looking for something quick to do but makes a dramatic change to the space – think about skirting your sink.

I will be linking up with Give me the Goods,

Not just a Housewife

Comments

  1. Pretty! Love that fabric 🙂

Leave a Reply

