Our Metalic Fall Mantel- White and Gold is the new Orange

Close up of the whole mantel web

I think this year more than any other year I am in denial that Fall is here. I have always loved fall – a crsip fall morning where you can see your breath – riding a horse and seeing all the beautiful colors on the hillside – hot apple cider or apple crisp are some of my favorite things…. But I really enjoyed the ease of summer living this year. Just throwing on a pair of shorts, t-shirt and flip-flops for the day was so refreshing. This was the first time in a long time I was home with the kids this summer – and well I don’t want that sense of ease to go away; or the sunshine!

Well, the kids are back in school and it is already mid Septemeber so I need to face the fact that Fall is here.

So when I was changing out my mantel I wanted to keep some of that summer lovin’ in the mix and not the “traditional” fall colors even though it would look awesome in my livingroom.

I wanted my mantel to have hints of fall without saying FALL – if you know what I mean. I really have fallen in love with my oval mirror I redid last Spring – you can see how I did it here.

So I decided to go with a gold and white color scheme. When I was at Marshall’s I saw this cute little owl in white and gold that really inspired my color scheme – isn’t he cute?

Gold and White owl - web

Then I found these awesome gold pine cone candle holders that I can use for Fall and even over the holidays too. I picked those up at Homegoods.

candle sticks gold mantel web

Then I found this arrangement of wheat – my son Peter was with me and he said  “Mom why are you buying hay?” Too cute. I thought the neutral color of the wheat balanced out the gold and white and added some texture too.

Wheat and candlestick web

I found this interesting candle stick (I guess you would call it that) with this gold/silver pumpkin on it that just adds a little hint of fall to the fireplace.

Then to anchor the whole space I remembered this red steel vase we brought back from Australia.  i paired that with these leaves that I found at Michael’s. There is a fair amount of red and that is something I was trying to avoid, but there is some gold as well and it does bring your eye down to the fireplace level.

Whole view of the mantel with flowers web

I like to try different design ideas and you can bring fall into your house in so many ways and colors…

upward facing view of the mantel web

When you are thinking about a design think outside the box – how can I say fall without saying fall – what other colors represent fall other than red, yellow and orange…?

Left view of the mantel web

So here is my fall mantel – reminds me of what is to come but also reminds me of the nice relaxing summer we had as well. A nice blend of colors and symbolizes all things fall to me this year.

Left hand side of the mantel

Are you ready for fall – what items remind you of the season?

We will be linking up with:

Cherriosandlattes.com

Give me the Goods Link Party

Winthrop Chronicles

Thrifty Decor Chick

It’s Overflowing – Share your Creativity

Link Party Palooza

Comments

  1. Beautiful .

  2. I love the white and gold! I keep telling myself to use some gold. Great job!!!

  3. i love this look! those pinecone candlesticks deserved a second look (at first I didn’t realize what they were). I am kicking myself for not buying this gold and white bird at a yard sale-I just couldn’t tell if it was supposed to be an owl or a bird. but for a dollar-who cares! shoulda totally bought it! ugh!

    • It took me a minute too when looking at the candlesticks to see what they were – the cool thing is I can use them for both fall and the upcoming Christmas season – love when you and keep using items!! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

