Oh the Vanity – 3 paint colors later!

How to paint your vanirty - web

Did you ever have a project look perfect in your head but once you got going it did not turn out how you thought? This is what happened to our vanity. This was the final stage in our bathroom update, everything was going smoothly – loved the paint color – framed mirror went up without a hitch – found the perfect shower curtains and window treatments ….so obviously I knew what I was doing and the vanity would come out awesome….Right? WRONG!

The vaniety before web

After reading countless blogs about how to paint cabinets and deciding the look I wanted to have – I decided I would paint the cabinets Old White by Annie Sloan. I have been working with it for some time and really like the color.

When picking out the other items for the bathroom a true white was too bright – a softer cream looked really nice. Since the mirror was painted cream – the counter is white and so are the sink basins – I just thought old white would blend right in…I even painted a piece of molding so I could hold it up to make sure.

vanity painted old white and will all the junk web

Well I was totally wrong – when painted Old White the vanity looks too yellow against the white counter tops – it was too many shades of white competing with one another. I was not going to distress the cabinets because they were a lighter wood…So I needed to start over.

We came home from a dinner party and then I decided that I would paint it the same color as the mirror – Pot of Cream. Again I painted everything and when it was all dry it was too much of the same color and looked like a blob of white…but the knobs were fabulous…

Pot of cream with nice knobs  web

So back to the drawing board for the third time….I was thinking brown to pull from the curtains  – but I really don’t like dark wood and thought it would be too dark…I eventually would like to replace the counter top with a nice marble or granite slab with built in sink basins….but that was not in the budget this time around.

So I decided to go with a complementary color – I chose Silvermist by Sherwin Williams. I had purchased the color already – since it was one of the original colors Steve and I picked out for the bathroom and was on our test wall….

Sherwin Williams Paint Samples bathroom webThey are right next to each other in this picture – why did I not see this before! So I grabbed the can and painted another piece of molding and finally saw the light…this was the color!  In the mean time I was running around sewing the curtains for our bedroom so I was running from project to project. I was bummed that that fabulous knobs that I really used as a bouncing off point for our fabrics did not go – they clashed too much with the color. So when shopping for school clothes with the kids I picked up these mercury glass ones from Anthropologie for 10 dollars a piece. They are a little bit bigger than they appeared in the store when I got them but I like how the silver looks against the Silvermist color.

Bathroom silver knobs web

Here is a funny story – the middle draw handle pulls were orginally a silver – when I thought I was going cream I spray painted them aqua – then when I had to change the color – I had to spray paint them back silver  – Oh this Vanity!

Middle drawers web

This also gave me an opportunity to clean out our bathroom vanity…it stores all my hair products and more importantly all my make-up – did you know that I am a make-up junky at heart? ….you could not tell – because all you see me is in my painting clothes….

vanity painted old white and will all the junk SVweb

Make-up drawer

Anyway one of the things I like about doing these projects is it gives you an opportunity to organize and get rid of items. Under my Hubby’s sink alone I threw out 1 large garbage bag of junk!  I organized his cabinet and now he will be able to see what he is looking for – miracle.

Steve's organized vaniety area

Because the color gods were against me our bathroom has been a total mess for about a week – putting me a little bit on edge. It is hard looking around the floor to figure out what eyeliner you need or where you left the hairspray!

View of the whole vanity web

All in all I am pleased with our bathroom mini remodel. It looks fresh and clean and cheery. I love  how all the colors blend together and the new accessories.

Comments

  1. Way to keep at it Chernee! My bathroom is waiting for you!

  2. Classy!

  3. It looks gorgeous! I love it!

Trackbacks

  1. […] 8 goes to Oh the Vanity – 3 colors later…I have to be honest – I love our new bathroom – but I am still not 100% in love with the vanity […]

Leave a Reply

