DIY Weekly Round-Up – #5

Even with the intense heat wave I was able to FINALLY get some projects done last week!

Emma and I have been shopping at one of my favorite stomping grounds and came across a couple of great finds:

 Emma nightstand flower web

First was a night stand for Emma’s room. We are going to be centering her bed on her wall and I wanted to flank two night stands on the wall on either side of her bed. Since my daughter is always in need of more storage in her room, I was looking for a piece that had a drawer as well as a couple of shelves. Emma picked out the stand – I got it for 50 dollars.

Emma's night stand before paint web

Since Emma’s room is all about color, I wanted some uniformity. So I painted it the same color as Emma’s other stand. Instead of painting the shelves I decided to use this fun contact paper in lime green.

Emma's nighttable pinkgreen web

It gave the piece some funk and teenage vibe!! Because the piece has some real formal lines, Emma came up with the idea of a color handle as well. It is going to look great in her new room.

I have been looking for a cabinet with drawers for a while for our entryway.  I have been on Craigslist trying to find it for a deal, but after a couple of months no luck. And my patience was wearing thin. We recently got this store called Kirkland’s and they have cute accessories and prints and the occasional furniture piece. They were having their annual sale and I found this piece there for $100 dollars.

Foyer table and mirror web

My wall in my entry way is not standard.  It is 29 inches long and the average occasional table is 31 inches. Anyway this piece was the right size, had a couple of drawers but was a yellowish cream color- which I really did not like. So I decided to paint it for effect. I don’t have any turquoise in the house either – so it adds a little bit of fun and unexpected color when you enter the house.

Front table w knobs web

Also, I found these awesome knobs at Homegoods.

Flower knobs on foyer table

They add a lot of character and cuteness to the piece. So this cabinet went from ordinary to extraordinary with a new color and fabulous knobs and greets my guests with a big “hello!”

Finally, I worked on this final piece for my dad. We just added as guesthouse or what we called the Bunkie to our cottage. We are in desperate need for more storage there. I will be working on a whole series on the Bunkie – our trip last week ended quickly so I was unable to get all the pictures I wanted.  My dad loves to read in the morning at the lake – plus read the paper – he still reads an actual paper. So I liked that this piece was narrow and had storage for his books and glasses.

Dad's reading table

In Ithaca, NY I found this cute store called Funky Fresh and they carried CECE Caldwell’s which is another brand of chalk + clay paint. I loved their colors – I purchased Alaskan Tundra Green and gave it a try. It definitely feels different than Annie Sloane paint; a little chalkier – but I loved how the color deepened once it was waxed.

 Dad new table 2 web

So if you are ever in the Ithaca area check out Funky Fresh they have great upcycle furniture and some awesome knobs and mid modern pieces!!

We are linking up with I heart Naptime today!

Give me the Goods Monday!

Winthrop Chronicles – Share it Link party

Not just a House Wife – Show me What you Got!

Comments

  1. Wow!! That nightstand is adorable! I love the pink and the green patterned contact paper! Gorgeous! Jenna @ Rain on a Tin Roof

Trackbacks

  1. […] DIY Weekly Round-Up – #5 (cherneeshouse.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

