The Little Man Baby Shower

sign web

This past week was so much fun! My Mom, Sister and I threw a shower for my Sister-in-Law and Brother. They are having their first child and it is a BOY!

The Sisters web

So when we found it was a little boy, my Sister in Law referred to him as her “Little Man” which was the inspiration for the shower. They are creating a sophisticated nursery with different uses of color vs. a baby theme so I wanted to mirror that at the shower and not have a traditional baby shower vibe.

The other cool piece to this story in this little one is going to be a  4th! So, I used the number 4 as part of the shower theme as well. I started out researching invites. I love finding really good invites and customizing them online and I love the feel of really good card stock.

I came across this invite on polka dot design. They were awesome to work with – we actually had to change the date of the shower after I had the invites printed and they basically did the reprint for me for free – now that is great customer service!

invites web.06

I leveraged the colors of mint green and baby blue as the colors of the shower. My sister made this awesome sign where we got the idea on Pinterest and these really cute little man signs for the favors and a small little banner with the leftover tags. We also made a cute sign for the front door that I tied with mint and blue netting.

tiny little man banner - web

Little Man Sign by Mom web

I bought yards of material to use as table clothes in the color scheme as well and they were about 8 dollars a piece with my coupons and really looked great in the room. Plus adding that level of sophistication to the room.

For favors we made little flowerpots for the guests to take home – everyone loves flowers this time of year. I bought 89-cent flowerpots and Emma and her sitter painted the base cream and the band blue.  I then ordered from Amazon these cool chalkboard labels and put the number 4 in the center! We then bought pink flowers (I know it is a boy – but let’s face it, pink flowers are prettier) and put them in the pot with the cute sign and they looked awesome. For the sign I just bought skewers and then taped the little sign to the top. I was afraid they might be too tall but they were perfect in the pot.

1010558_544983225565090_1257593119_n

For a centerpiece for the main table I made a Number 4 frame for his room. I bought a standard 8X10 frame. Painted it a cream color, I wanted it to look fresh not distressed, then I purchased a number 4 and painted it the same color blue as the pots.  I bought a yard of material cut out the size of the glass in the frame and removed the glass.  Then I adhered the fabric to the back of the frame, and then hot glued the 4 to the material. It was a great centerpiece with an added vase of simple white flowers next to it!

Laura's shower table web

It was a 1 pm shower so we made a light lunch of couscous salad, caprise skewers, fruit salad, veggies with different types of dips and my mother in law made these awesome pinwheels with cream cheese and pepperoni! Dee-lish!

For refreshments we made raspberry lemonade with fresh mint from my sister’s garden, blue berries and raspberries, lemon ice water and then wine! By the way if you want to spice up your wine pour a little bit of your raspberry lemonade in – it was so refreshing!

Finally my Mom is known for her desserts and she went crazy as usual, we had a white cake in the shape of a onsie, angel food cake with fresh berries and home made whipped cream, cheesecake (the mommy-to-be’s favorite) and cookies!

Dessert table web

Needless to say we were all stuffed and so enjoyed seeing all our family and friends! What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon! And those of us who are living in the NE right now it did not rain – miracle!

The house is back to normal – loving the idea of being an Aunt again and can’t wait to see those little hands and toes!

Partying over at Oh My  Creative today – Whimsy Wednesday

Comments

  1. Aunt Cathy says:

    What a beautiful job.

Leave a Reply

