Summer Mantel Tutorial

Summer mantel full view web

So one evening last week while we were going back and forth for soccer practice I kept staring at the distressed mirror in the garage thinking “should I sell it or should I find a place for it around the house?” It is so heavy that I could not lift it up high by myself! So I asked the Hubby to see how it looked on our mantel in the living room….and to my surprise it did not look bad!

So I thought I would play around with a couple of the items that I had around the house to see what type of fun summer mantel I could come up with, and lo and behold, I liked it and the mirror is here to stay for the summer!

I put this video together on how I experimented with different accessories until I came up with the look I was going for…I think it is helpful to see the thought process….it is all about giving it a try and see what it looks like….. See if you can spot the guest appearance in the video. First one to leave a comment with the correct answer on the blog will get a $25.00 Starbucks gift card!

Here are some close up pictures of the mantel. See how I leverage the different hues and textures of the different elements?

distressed candle white mantel web

The distressed candle stick matches the distressed mirror, a pair of small topiary pots, a little bird that has a shinny finish to match the mantel and the dark candle stick to pull the distressed marks from the mirror.

Close up on mantel bird

The important thing is to keep trying different elements until you find the blend that works.  Keep at it!

We are partying with:

Today’s Creative Blog

Sugar Bee crafts

Lolly Jane

The Winthrop Chronicles

 

Comments

  1. I appreciate you sharing your thought process behind the mantel set-up. It inspires me to start thinking in a new way about home decor. The mantel looks so clean and elegant!

Leave a Reply

